Annual art contest challenges local students to create art based on classical music

(ST. LOUIS) The St. Louis Symphony Volunteer Association is pleased to announce its Maestro Award winners for the 2014 Picture the Music competition.  They were presented Thursday, February 27 during a special event at Powell Hall. 

The Maestro winner in the Grades 1-3 category was Jessica Binkley from South Callaway Elementary School; Livi Bonsack of Emge Elementary School took the Maestro Award for Grades 4-6.  Their works will be displayed at Powell Hall for one year.

Picture the Music is a program designed to encourage students to integrate audio and visual art.  All of the children who took part listened to the fourth movement of Bartók’s Concerto for Orchestra.  They were then asked to create an original artwork based on the music they heard.  Each school could submit work from seven students, and the winners were chosen by a distinguished panel of judges.

Picture the Music is an annual event sponsored by the Symphony Volunteer Association.  For more information, go to

PHOTO CAPTION:  The 2014 Picture the Music Maestro Award Winners are Jessica Binkley and Livi Bonsack.  They are pictured with Ron Klemm, Picture the Music Master of Ceremonies, Diana Haskell, Associate Principal Clarinet, Sara Fabick, SVA Chair and Susan Pribble, Picture the Music Chair


*Founded in 1880 and now in its 134th season, the St. Louis Symphony is the second-oldest orchestra in the country and widely considered one of the world’s finest. In September 2005, internationally acclaimed conductor David Robertson became the 12th Music Director, the second American-born conductor to hold that post in the Orchestra’s history.  The St. Louis Symphony strives for artistic excellence, fiscal responsibility and community connection while meeting its mission statement:  enriching people’s live through the power of music. The Symphony presents a full season of classical programs and Live at Powell Hall concerts, as well as hundreds of free education and community programs each year.