St. Louis-area arts organizations announce vaccination requirements beginning in September

To download this release, click here.

(September 1, 2021, St. Louis, MO) – Today, in a collaborative partnership, 16 St. Louis-area performing arts organizations and venues announced they will require everyone attending indoor performances and events, including patrons, artists, staff, and volunteers, to provide proof of full COVID-19 vaccination or a recent negative COVID-19 test.

Marie-Hélène Bernard, President and CEO of the St. Louis Symphony Orchestra, said, "St. Louis has one of the nation's most diverse and vibrant arts community, and we look forward to welcoming audiences back to our spaces safely. I am grateful to my colleagues who agree that our institutions must take the necessary steps to protect our community, patrons, staff, and artists as we gather for live performances and events. While our offerings are unique, all of our area arts organizations share a commitment to strengthen our communities through the arts—and to do so in the safest way possible. The SLSO is proud to stand together with our peer organizations in service to the people of St. Louis."

The organizations announcing the vaccination requirement include:
• St. Louis Symphony Orchestra
• The Bach Society of Saint Louis
• The Black Rep
• Dance St. Louis
• Grand Center Inc.
• Jazz St. Louis
• Kranzberg Arts Foundation
• Metro Theater Company
• Modern American Dance Company (MADCO)
• National Blues Museum
• Opera Theatre of Saint Louis
• The Repertory Theatre of St. Louis
• The Sheldon Concert Hall and Art Galleries
• St. Louis Shakespeare Festival
• St. Louis Speakers Series
• STAGES St. Louis (beginning 9/24)

These 16 organizations join area venues that already have announced audience vaccination requirements, including Hollywood Casino Amphitheatre, The Factory, the Pageant, Delmar Hall, and others.

While the policies at each venue may differ slightly, all patrons attending events at Powell Hall are required to show proof of full COVID-19 vaccination (two doses of the Moderna or Pfizer-BioNTech vaccine or one dose of the Johnson & Johnson vaccine) or negative COVID-19 test upon arrival at all public events. Guests will need to bring a photo ID and either a physical vaccination card or a photo of their vaccination card. Unvaccinated patrons and children under 12 must provide proof of a negative COVID-19 test: either a negative RT-PCR test taken within 72 hours of the performance start time, or a negative antigen test taken within 24 hours of the performance start time. The SLSO policy goes into effect September 13.

Additionally, all patrons are required to wear approved face coverings in accordance with the St. Louis City mask mandate, including while seated during performances unless eating or drinking. Face coverings must be worn properly, covering the nose and mouth, and meet Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) standards. Bandanas, face shields only, and neck gaiters are not permitted. Patrons arriving without appropriate face coverings will be provided with a disposable mask.

These protocols are in effect at Powell Hall through December 1, 2021, and will be reviewed regularly to follow the latest public health recommendations in conjunction with the CDC, City of St. Louis, and St. Louis County.

In addition to mandatory vaccinations and mask-wearing inside venues, each organization may implement additional health and safety protocols. Prior to attending events, patrons are encouraged to check the protocols at their specific venue.

Media contacts:
St. Louis Symphony Orchestra: Eric Dundon, 314-286-4134, ericd@slso.org
The Bach Society of Saint Louis: Charissa Marcianiak, 417-315-4104, charissa@therightrelations.com
The Black Rep: Brian McKinley, 314-534-3810, brianm@theblackrep.org
Dance St. Louis: Sarah Thompson, marketing@dancestlouis.org
Grand Center Inc.: Liz Mayer, 314-289-1508, liz@grandcenter.org
Jazz St. Louis: Travis Estes, 314-881-3088, travis@jazzstl.org
Kranzberg Arts Foundation: Amy Burger, amy@amyburger.com
Metro Theater Company: Sarah Thompson, 314-932-7414, sarah@metroplays.org
Modern American Dance Company (MADCO): Arianna Russ, managingdirector@madcodance.com
National Blues Museum: Alyssa Hegwood, ahegwood@nationalbluesmuseum.org
Opera Theatre of Saint Louis: Chantal Incandela, cincandela@opera-stl.org
The Repertory Theatre of St. Louis: Amy Burger, press@repstl.org
The Sheldon Concert Hall and Art Galleries: Chris Peimann, cpeimann@thesheldon.org
St. Louis Shakespeare Festival: Allie Magee, allie@stlshakes.org
St. Louis Speakers Series: Jonathan Brader, brader@speakerseries.org
STAGES St. Louis: Brett Murray, bmurray@stagesstlouis.org

#  #  #