2019/2020 SLSO Season At A Glance

Download this as a PDF.

  • Stéphane Denève begins his tenure as the 13th Music Director of the St. Louis Symphony Orchestra with a free concert for thousands at Forest Park's iconic Art Hill.

  • Throughout the season, Denève and the SLSO celebrate an arch of Franco-American musical friendship and explore their symmetric influences.

  • The season includes two world premieres of SLSO-commissioned works by Aaron Jay Kernis and Kevin Puts; the U.S. premiere of the orchestral version of Guillaume Connesson's A Kind of Trane; 16 works by composers of our time including John Adams, Lera Auerbach, William Bolcom, Anna Clyne, Guillaume Connesson, Sofia Gubaidulina, Jennifer Higdon, Pierre Jalbert, Aaron Jay Kernis, Arvo Pärt, Kevin Puts, Outi Tarkiainen, and John Williams, plus a work that includes contributions from composers Claude Baker, Mason Bates, William Bolcom, Guillaume Connesson, John Corigliano, Cindy McTee, Joseph Schwantner, Leonard Slatkin, and Joan Tower; 19 works that are SLSO premieres; and numerous works that have been given rare performance by the SLSO.

  • Denève's close collaborator and celebrated pianist Jean-Yves Thibaudet joins the SLSO as the Jean-Paul and Isabelle Montupet Artist-in-Residence for the 19/20 season. Thibaudet will perform works by Ravel, Liszt, and Connesson with the Orchestra, and an evening of chamber music featuring Thibaudet and SLSO musicians, presented in partnership with Washington University's Great Artists Series.

  • Imagining new concert formats, Denève will lead the SLSO in its first symphonic play, Maurice Ravel: A Musical Journey by playwright Didi Balle, featuring Artist-in-Residence Jean-Yves Thibaudet.

  • Additional season highlights include works from the ballet repertoire including Tchaikovsky's Sleeping Beauty and The Nutcracker, Stravinsky's The Rite of Spring, and Denève leading the SLSO premiere of Poulenc's Les biches Suite; SLSO Conductor Laureate Leonard Slatkin leads the premiere of a co-commission including new variations from five composers to honor his 75th birthday; Resident Conductor Gemma New conducts a program inspired by war and peace, with works by Prokofiev, Vaughan Williams, and Arvo Pärt; and the St. Louis Symphony Chorus performs in five programs.

  • Conductors making their classical subscription debuts include Rafael Payare, Masaaki Suzuki, Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider, Andrew Grams, Marcelo Lehninger, and early music specialist Richard Egarr; returning guest conductors include John Adams, Edo de Waart, Cristian Măcelaru, Nicholas McGegan, and John Storgårds.

  • Artists making their SLSO debuts include pianists Saleem Ashkar, Seong-Jin Cho, and Joyce Yang; violinist Jennifer Pike; cellist Gautier Capuҫon; and vocalists Dashon Burton, Jennifer Johnson Cano, Ellie Dehn, Mojca Erdmann, Anthony Clark Evans, Mané Galoyan, Joanne Lunn, Edward Nelson, Issachah Savage, Michael Spyres, Davóne Tines, and Zachary Wilder.

  • Returning artists include pianists Jeremy Denk, Jean-Yves Thibaudet, and Simon Trpčeski; violinists James Ehnes, Karen Gomyo, Gil Shaham, and Baiba Skride; saxophonist Timothy McAllister; and vocalists Joélle Harvey, Isabel Leonard, Kelley O'Connor, and John Relyea.

  • Five SLSO musicians will take the stage as soloists during the season, including oboist Jelena Dirks; violinists Kristin Ahlstrom, David Halen, and Angie Smart; and flutist Andrea Kaplan.

  • Live radio broadcasts of all Saturday Classical concerts on St. Louis Public Radio continue for a tenth season. Night at the Symphony on the Nine Network continues for its fifth season.